www.dichtung-digital.de/Theorie/index-e.htm

- I 8 I + I new

Digital Code and Literary Text by Florian Cramer [English]
The theoretical debate of literature in digital networks has shifted from perceiving computer technology solely as an extension of conventional textuality towards paying attention to the very codedness of digital systems themselves. Florian Cramer raises the questions which need to be answered: Can notions of text that were developed without electronic texts in mind be applied to digital code, and how does literature come into play here? How do computer programs relate to literature? Is that what is currently being discussed as "Software Art" a literary genre?
http://www.dichtung-digital.com/2001/10/22-Cramer

The World of Digital Literature by Christine Böhler [English]
The World Wide Web as an enormous publishing system with enormous consequences for literary production outside the market-driven best-seller charts: Multiple authoring, globalization and individualism, new sales strategies of publishing houses, book stores, authors and artists. Christine Böhler talks about the new possibilities and risks.
http://www.dichtung-digital.com/2001/10/20-Boehler

Eight Digits of Digital Poetics bv Friedrich W. Block [German/English]
A manifesto of digital poetics - as often with manifestos done in the tone of manifests. Among the 8 decrees: Nothing radically new occurs with digital poetry, she does not improve on, redeem or translate (post)modern ways of writing. And: Digital poetry presents and exemplifies the use of languages, or codes, in symbol processing computers and in digital networks
http://www.dichtung-digital.com/2001/10/17-Block

WYSIWYG or WYGIWYS. Notes on the Loss of Inscription by Giselle Beiguelman [English]
The loss of inscription points to shifts in perception, visualisation and reading. There is not any difference between originals and copies - just a continuous movement of the reorganization of data and a fluxes of information. They are identical resettings of the same informative code. But they are not identical for the experience and this is the fascination of the clone logic: its possibility of being different and identical at the same time.
http://www.dichtung-digital.com/2001/10/16-Beiguelmann

Death of the author? Death of the reader! by Roberto Simanowski [English]
The author isn't as dead as widely supposed. At least not in the way hypertext theorist have misinterpreted Barthes and Foucault. But what about the reader? The reader disappears into the event of a collaborative authorship, resulting in text which represents the event of collaboration but is not as interesting as the text itself.
http://www.dichtung-digital.com/2001/09/30-Simanowski

Screaming Screen and Binary Idealism by Johannes Auer [English/German]
A text about surfaces and screens, flat mice and done in cats, the longing for death in Internet and the "binary idealism", a little Plato, even Flusser. Does netart really lay in the code? Are hackers the real net artists? Is the visualization of the machine-code on the screen just as useless and inferior as the dull, boring piece of art in Plato's ideal state?
http://www.dichtung-digital.com/2001/09/28-Auer

www.dichtung-digital.de/Theorie

- I 8 I + | aktuell

Digital Code and Literary Text von Florian Cramer [Englisch]
Die Diskussion von Literatur in digitalen Netzwerken hat sich verschoben von der bloßen Wahrnehmung des Computers als Erweiterung konventioneller Textualität zur Wahrnhemung der Codiertheit des digitalen Systems an sich. Florian Cramer stellt die Fragen, die auf Antworten warten: Kann die Perspektive auf Text, der unabhängig von elektronischem Text entwickelt wurde, auf digitalen Code angewandt werden und was bedeutet dies für die Literatur? Wie verhalten sich Computerprogramme und Literatur zueinander? Ist "Software Art" ein literarisches Genre?
http://www.dichtung-digital.com/2001/10/22-Cramer

The World of Digital Literature von Christine Böhler [Englisch/Deutsch]
Das World Wide Web ist ein riesiger Publikationsort mit tiefgehenden Konsequenzen für die literarische Produktion abseits der Bestsellerlisten: Multiple Autorschaft, Globalisation und Individualismus, neue Verkaufsstrategien der Verlage, Buchläden, Autoren und Künstler. Christine Böhler skizziert die neuen Möglichkeiten und Risiken.
http://www.dichtung-digital.com/2001/10/20-Boehler

Acht Finger digitaler Poetik von Friedrich W. Block [Deutsch/Englisch]
Ein Manifest digitaler Poetik mit manifestartigen Zuspitzungen. Unter den 8 Dekreten: Mit digitaler Poesie geschieht nichts radikal Neues, sie ist auch nicht die Einlösung oder Verbesserung (post)moderner Schreibweisen. Und: Digitale Poesie präsentiert und exemplifiziert den Gebrauch von Sprachen bzw. Zeichensystemen in der Symbolmaschine Computer und in digitalen Netzwerken.
http://www.dichtung-digital.com/2001/10/17-Block

WYSIWYG or WYGIWYS. Notes on the Loss of Inscription von Giselle Beiguelman [Englisch]
Der Verlust der Einschreibung bringt Veränderungen in Darstellung und Wahrnehmung. Es gibt keinen Unterschied mehr zwischen Original und Kopie - nur eine anhaltende Reorganisation der Daten. Es sind identische Resettings derselben Codes - aber sie sind nicht identisch in der Wahrnehmung, und das ist das Faszinierende der Klone-Logik: Die Möglichkeit, identisch und verschieden zugleich zu sein.
http://www.dichtung-digital.com/2001/10/16-Beiguelmann

Death of the author? Death of the reader! von Roberto Simanowski [Englisch]
Der Autor ist nicht so tot wie oft behauptet; jedenfalls nicht in der Lesart, mit der einige Hypertext-Theoretiker Barthes und Foucault missverstehen. Dagegen steht es schlecht um den Leser. Dieser verschwindet vielerorts im Event kollaborativer Autorschaft. Als Ergebnis treten die Texte oft nur noch als Zeichen einer Gemeinschaftlichkeit auf, nicht mehr als Geschichten, auf die man sich einlässt.
http://www.dichtung-digital.com/2001/09/30-Simanowski

Screaming Screen and Binary Idealism von Johannes Auer [Englisch/Deutsch]
Ein Text über die Oberfläche und Bildschirme, Mäuse und Katzen, die Sehnsucht nach dem Tode. Johannes Auers Attacke zielt auf die "binären Idealisten", die Netzkunst und -literatur ganz im Code verorten und das optische Ergebnis auf dem Bildschirm als zweitrangig und unterlegen abtun wie einst Plato in seinem Idealen Staat die Kunst.
http:www.dichtung-digital.com/2001/09/28-Auer